BTE Student Stories

Jamila Chaddad

Meet ABTS 2020 Student Ambassador Jamila Chaddad!

BTE Site: Limerick, Ireland


“The thing I’m looking forward to most about ABTS is learning what the other ambassadors are doing in relation to the program that is different to what I’m doing. I’m only in year one of BTE, so I’m really curious to see what the people in year 2 and 3 are doing that I might do in the next few years. I’m just really looking forward to meeting new people and sharing each others’ experiences. Not only do I want to see how our BTE experiences are different from one another, but also how our countries are different and similar, as well as our daily lives in general.”


I’m 16-years-old, and I’m mixed nationality (my mother is Irish and my father is Moroccan). I would describe myself as a very confident and talkative person. I’m really creative so I love to do creative writing and thinking outside the box. I really love animals except for spiders (they’re my biggest fear). My favorite color is red. I really love nature and could spend hours outside.


Over in Ireland, it’s basically cold all year round, but it does get sunny sometimes, mostly around June or July. Everything is really close by, all in walking distance. There’s a castle five minutes away from me called King Johns Castle and also a rugby stadium called Thomond Park. There’s also a river called Shannon River that goes through the city close to where I live, you would usually see people kayaking and jet skiing there. There’s always a good atmosphere in my community. There’s a community center near me that holds events such as camps, soccer tournaments for the kids in my area and even stuff for the older people such as bingo and cooking classes. Since isolation happened and things started to close down everyone in my area comes together every Tuesday to play bingo. People here are so nice and very understanding. They don’t judge others and are really open-minded people.The people that live near me always help people out and at night people are always out talking with their neighbors for hours and just having fun.


  • Volunteering at my local animal shelter
  • Visiting Japan when I’m 17 (I’ve always been interested in their culture)
  • Learning about the school systems in different schools across the world
  • Studying abroad


Some of my hobbies are drawing (mostly cartoon style), reading (favorite book is Catcher in the Rye), playing soccer, baking, and traveling. I’ve been to Morocco, France, Spain, and am planning to go to America.

[button link=”” type=”big” color=”lightblue”] About ABTS 2020[/button]